

The ministry of Civil Aviation and Tourism has formarly handed over the management of local tourism to three Hill District Councils on 28 August 2014.

On this occasion a function was arranged at Hotel Sanargaon. Secretary of the Ministry of Civil Aviation and Tourism Mr. Khorshed Alam Chowdhury and Chairmen of three Hill District Councils signed the transfer agreement while Secretary of the Ministry of Chittagong Hill Tracts Affairs (MoCHTA) Mr Naba Bikram Kishore Tripura ndc initialed the agreement as observer.

Mr. Bir Bahadur Ushwe Sing, MP, Hon'ble State Minister, Ministry of Chittagong Hill Tracts Affairs chaired the function. Honorable minster of the Ministry of Civil Aviation and Tourism Mr Rashed Khan Menon MP, Professor Dr. Gowher Rizvi, Adviser to the Prime Minister (International Affairs), Mr. R A M Obaidul Muktadir Chowdhury MP, Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee spoke on the occasion. Mr. Kujendralal Tripura MP and Firoja Begum MP were also present.

Mr Rashed Khan Menon MP said that the Peace Accord ensured the fundamental rights of the CHT people and pioneered as role model of development.

Dr. Gowher Rizvi in his speech said that the government was very much committed to the implementation the Peace Accord signed in 1997. He said that the main problem in CHT was the `land dispute' and informed that the Land Dispute Resolution Commission Act ,2001 (Amendment) would be passed in the Parliament without further delay. The amended Act will protect the interest of both the communities, tribal and non-tribal, of CHT, he affirmed.

R A M Obaidul Muktadir Chowdhury said that the mutual distrust is the main impediment for the implementation the Peace Accord. This can be resolved through constant dialogue.

Secretary of the Ministry of Chittagong Hill Tracts Affairs (MoCHTA) Mr Naba Bikram Kishore Tripura ndc said that with the transfer of local tourism, 29 transferable subjects have so far been transferred to Rangamati Hill District Council and Khagrachhari Hill District Council and 28 subjects to Bandarban Hill District Council.